Glory by NoViolet Bulawayo Longlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction 2023

Zimbabwean author NoViolet Bulawayo is amongst the longlist –16 for the 2023 Women’s Prize for Fiction for her book Glory. 

The Women’s Prize for Fiction is one of the United Kingdom’s most prestigious literary prizes. It is awarded annually to a female author of any nationality for the best original full-length novel written in English and published in the United Kingdom in the preceding year. This year is the 28th edition. A shortlist of six books is set for April 26, after which the winner will be announced on June 14. 

NoViolet Bulawayo is the pen name of Elizabeth Zandile Tshele, a US based Zimbabwean author who was born in Tsholotsho. In 2012, the National Book Foundation named her a “5 under 35” honoree. She was named one of the Top 100 most influential Africans by New African magazine in 2014 and has previously won the following awards ;The Caine Prize for African Writing, 9mobile Prize for Literature, PEN/Hemingway Award

” i’m very honored and humbled to be among this year’s longlisted writers; thank you to the judges, and congratulations to the other nominees. tholukuthi phepha MaNdlo, ngiyazi sudiniwe ngoGlory laphokhona.

NoViolet Bulawayo

The 16 longlisted books are as follows:Black Butterflies by Priscilla MorrisChildren of Paradise by Camilla GrudovaCursed Bread by Sophie MackintoshDemon Copperhead by Barbara KingsolverFire Rush by Jacqueline CrooksGlory by NoViolet BulawayoHomesick by Jennifer CroftI’m a Fan by Sheena PatelMemphis by Tara M. StringfellowPod by Laline PaullStone Blind by Natalie HaynesThe Bandit Queens by Parini ShroffThe Dog of the North by Elizabeth McKenzieThe Marriage Portrait by Maggie O’FarrellTrespasses by Louise Kennedy Wandering Souls by Cecile Pin


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s