Jah Master, Nutty O and Poptain Top ZIMA 2021 nominations

Poptain, Jah Master and Nutty O are leading in nominations for this year’s PPC Zimbabwe Music Awards with five for Poptain and for the other two. The dancehall trio dominated the streets and online last year with solo projects and the later finally sealing it off with a duet Kokai.

By Plot Mhako

The three young, super talented and versatile artists have been in the game for sometime with Nutty O making a the first break which he has consistently sustained through great releases such as Simba Mukaka, Bless My hustle, Vroom, Proof em wrong, Lets Talk About it, Boom Shelele and many other hit songs.

Nutty O

On the other hand, Poptain built an impressive discography over the past years until the lockdown when he stole the hearts of many and the limelight during a Teemak Promotions event where he battled with star Enzo Ishall.


With a catalogue carrying powerful songs like Freedom, a feature on Duffle Bag with Anita Jaxson, Majoma, Fadza Mutengi with Allanah, Kokai with Nutty O, Tetena amount amongst others.

Touted as the flag bearers for a major international breakthrough Nutty O and Poptain continue to cement their ground and fuel their dream as re-affirmed by the PPC ZIMA Awards 2021 nominees list.

Poptain & Nutty O

Jah Master literally owned the year with his hit song “Hello Mwari” . The song featured on NashTV’s Nash Nation Riddim 3 competition where he won US $3,000 for becoming the most played artist off the project. The song’s popularity shot up gaining some 1 million views on YouTube within 2 weeks.

The artist had previously released several songs that did well on the dancehall circuit such as Ndozvitura, Dollar “Vatete Nemurora”, Mutaundi, Hwahwa, Tsamba, Bhurugwa rekwaNdunge.

Jah Master

Jah Master went on to remix Hello Mwari together with Tanzanian star Haitham Kim.

Kokai _ Nutty O & Poptain (Official Video)
Jah Master – Hello Mwari Remix (Official Video) ft. Haitham Kim

How many will they bag? Time will tell, meanwhile it will be Kokoi kokai and Hello Mwari all the way! Other other artists who secured more than one nomination include NOX, Jah Master, Asaph and Sha Sha, Janet Manyowa have three each followed by those two as indicated below.

NOX : 3


Holy TEN : 2

Fusion 5 : 2

Sha Sha: 3

Jah Master : 3

Poptain : 5 

Anota Jaxson : 2

Ammara Brown: 2

Asaph : 3

Tocky Vibes: 2

Baba Harare : 2

Freeman: 12

Janet Manyowa: 3 

Mambo Dhuterere : 2

Hilzy : 2

NB: We hope we captured the statistics accurately

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s