Roil Bulawayo Arts Awards announces 2020 nominees

Organisers of the 4th edition of the ROIL Bulawayo Arts awards today announced the list of the nominees for the awards event which will on 28th November 2020 in the City of Kings and Queens. This year a total of 4,376 nomination entries were submitted for the #RoilBAA20.

By Plot Mhako [ with excerpts from the RoilBAA20 page

Bulawayo Arts Awards (BAA) are multi-disciplinary arts awards that recognise and honour exceptional individuals and collaborative artistic efforts in the city of Bulawayo, Matabeleland North and South, Further BAA will honour those born in Bulawayo and practicing arts around the world.

The awards are widely regarded as the most organised in the country.

The awards are not meant to counter any awards or forms of recognition in Bulawayo or the country in general but are intended to compliment the efforts that are already being made to recognise, encourage and honour artists from the greater Matabeleland region.

According to the organisers the awards know no race or tribe as the awards’ base is a cosmopolitan City. The awards are being curated to recognise good effort and talent amongst our artists. The inaugural edition of the awards will be held in June 2017. Roil is the main sponsor for the event a support they have given consistently.

BAA _ 2018

2020 Roil Bulawayo Arts Awards Nominees.

Music Awards

  1. Outstanding Gospel Artist | Act
    Blessing Mokoena
    Harvest Music
    Mai Mwamuka
    Minister Lindani
  2. Outstanding Kwaito | House | Gqom Artist | Act
    Mzistozz Mfanafuthi
  3. Outstanding Tshibilika | Rhumba Artist | Act
    Clement Magwaza
    Madlela Skhobokhobo
    Themba Boyoyo
  4. Outstanding Imbube | Accapela Act
    Indosakusa The Morning Star
    Family Voices
  5. Outstanding Alternative (Maskandi | Jazz) Music Artist | Act
    Noluntu J
    Mandy Mae
    Sam Musik
    Vuyo Brown
  6. Outstanding HipHop Artist | Act
    Fish F. Ndaramu
  7. Outstanding Female Artist
    Minister Lindani
    Sandra Ndebele
    Vuyo Brown
  8. Outstanding Male Artist
    Madlela Sikhobokhobo
    Vusa Mkhaya
  9. Outstanding Music Producer
    Murphy Cubic
    Nashville- Studio Rock up
    Smallz -Elephant Herd
  10. Song of the Year
    Amakhekhe by Top Kings
    Amalobolo by Ngoma Ingoma
    Asambeni by Mzoe 7
    Babazala by Chipman
    Like so by Asaph
    Ngawuzw’ Umoya Wami by Msiz’kay – ft Awa Khiwe & Mzoe7
    Thula Wazi by Vuyo brown
  11. Outstanding Music Video
    Asambeni by Mzoe 7
    Aspheli Moya by Asaph ft Msizkay
    Impilo by Sandra Ndebele ft Vukani
    I want it by MUSE
    Rain Maker by Djembe Monks

Dance Awards

  1. Outstanding Male Dancer
    Aaron Chikondawanga -(IYASA)
    Josam Mwanza – (Ezimnyama Dance Ensemble)
    Prince Chibansha – (Super Geeks)
  2. Outstanding Female Dancer
    Beauty Mashawila (Hloseni Arts)
    Dadirai Mupandawana (Ezimnyama Dance Ensemble)
    Michelle Msopero (Solo Artist)
  3. Outstanding Dance Ensemble
    Bolamba Culture Birds
    Ezimnyama Dance Ensemble
    Salt and Light
    Super Geeks

Theatre Awards

  1. Outstanding Theatre Actress
    Agnes Ncube in Imbokodo
    Charmaine Mudau in Imbokodo
    Musa Sibanda in 6.55
  2. Outstanding Theatre Actor
    Ronald Sgeca in Bleeding Wounds
    Cadrik Msongelwa in Imbokodo
    Gift Chakuvinga in The Debt
  3. Outstanding Theatre Production
    6.55 by Lady Tshawe
    Bleeding Wounds by Nobert Makoche
    Imbokodo by Nobert Makoche

18 and 19 Visual Arts Awards (NO NOMINEES)

  1. Outstanding Arts Photographer
    Puzzle Moment
    Sa Dee Lensworks
    Tinashe Charleston
    Veins Media
  2. Outstanding Arts Journalist Across Board
    Bongani Ndlovu – The Chronicle
    Langa Mabhena -B Metro
    Mthabisi Tshuma – The Chronicle
    Sharon Sibindi – Newsday
  3. Outstanding Online Media
    Bulawayo Arts News Online – BANO
    Fokus Magazine
    The Voice Knot Podcast
  4. Outstanding Television Production | Programme
    Pink n Purple
  5. Outstanding Film | TV Actress
    Charmaine Mudau in Scars / Amanxeba
    Donna N in Scars / Amanxeba
    Sarah Mpofu in Home Affairs
  6. Outstanding Film | TV Actor
    Calvin Madula in Gold Diggers
    Madlela Skhobokhobo in Shaina
    Tebogo Tebza Moyo in Indlalifa
  7. Outstanding Short Film (new catergory)
    Home Affairs
    Scars / Amanxeba
    Spoken Word Awards
  8. Outstanding Comedian
    Chik Aljoy
    Ckhanyiso Dat Guy
    Ntandoyenkosi Moyo
  9. Outstanding Poet
    Desire moyo
    Mercy Dliwayo aka Sista X
    Obert Dube
    Sox The Poet
    Literary Arts Awards
  10. Outstanding Literary Work – Fiction
    Grasping At Straws by Yvonne Maphosa
    Elomine by Disrael Israel
    Nerfetri.inkless Quills Book 2 by Nathaniel Z Mpofu
    Philtrum 2.0 – Philani Amadeus Nyoni
  11. Outstanding Literary Work – Non-Fiction
    On The Shadows Of Struggle by Obert Mpofu
    Self Starters by Njabulo Moyo
    Quiet Flows The Zambezi by Tshinga Dube
  12. Outstanding Ndebele Literary Work (New)
    Iziga Zalumhlaba lulotshwe ngu Onesimo Mpofu
    Untikolotshi lulotshwe ngu Mihla Sitsha Tsheza
    Umhlaba ungihlanekele lulotshwe ngu Nonduduzo Ncube
  13. Outstanding Female Model
    Ayanda Candice
    Caroline Muzondo
    Sanelisiwe Ncube
  14. Outstanding Male Model
    Ben Chest
    Jimmy Mhlanga
    Liam Hall
  15. Outstanding Fashion Designer/House
    Sanah designs
    Special Awards
    36.Outstanding Newcomer Across All Genres
    Helen Nyati
    La Dee
    Mandie Mae
    Skhosana Band
    Soul Dudes
    DJ Awards
  16. Outstanding Club DJ
    Crazy Black
    Crazy D
    Dj Prince Esikhosini
    Dj Yugoe
  17. Outstanding Radio DJ (New)
    Cde Phil – (Khulumani FM)
    Mjox – (Skyze Metro FM)
    Thorne Le Rock -(Khulumani FM)
    Manurse Ndlovu -(Skyze Metro FM)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s